Mystic Seaport, Connecticut

The Mystic River in southeastern Connecticut has been the scene of shipbuilding since the 1600s, and more than 600 vessels are known to have been constructed there between 1784 and 1919. The town of Mystic became a prominent shipbuilding port after 1840, with almost 100 vessels launched from Mystic between then and 1880. Wooden shipbuilding in small communities like Mystic declined in the late nineteenth century, although local yards turned out a modest number of large coasting schooners, yachts, and small fishing vessels until 1920. In 1929, three Mystic residents established the Marine Historical Association to preserve the rapidly disappearing remnants of the town’s maritime past. Mystic Seaport is now an active living history museum with 17 acres of exhibits portraying coastal life in New England during the nineteenth century. Four major vessels lie at Mystic Seaport wharves and docks where they may be boarded by visitors. The highlight is the wooden whaleship “Charles W. Morgan,” which was built in 1841 and was active until 1921. Mystic Seaport also has a number of exhibit galleries which display a wide-ranging collection of art and artifacts, along with a schedule of changing exhibitions.

Location map and directions click here.

Links: Mystic Seaport Museum by the Sea

Leave a Reply