Mark Twain House, Connecticut

In 1871, Samuel Langhorne Clemens (known to legions of high school English students as Mark Twain) relocated from Buffalo, New York, to Hartford, Connecticut, to be near his publisher, Elisha Bliss, whose American Publishing Company was located in Connecticut’s capital. Twain, with his wife Olivia and infant son Langdon, first rented a house on Forest Street in Nook Farm, on the western side of Hartford. In 1873, the family had a house built in a Nook Farm neighborhood that included Harriet Beecher Stowe. (Stowe’s restored home is located across the lawn from the Twain House and is also open to the public as a museum.) Twain published Life on The Mississippi (1883), Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (1884), and A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court (1889) during the period when the family lived in this home. In 1891, they moved to Europe. The Mark Twain House opened as a museum in the 1960s under the auspices of the Mark Twain Memorial, a private, non-profit organization that still owns and operates the museum. The house contains many pieces of Clemens family furniture, including Twain’s Venetian bed and his billiard table.

Location information and directions

Links: Mark Twain House

Leave a Reply