The Lyndon Baines Johnson Library Museum is part of a system of presidential libraries administered by the National Archives and Records Administration. The library preserves the papers and memorabilia of President Lyndon Baines Johnson and provides access to these materials for research purposes. In addition, the Library actively collects the papers of Johnson’s contemporaries and conducts an oral history program designed to supplement the written record. The library holds more than 44 million documents, an extensive audiovisual collection, and oral history interviews with more than 1,000 individuals. The papers of Lyndon B. Johnson, which form the core of the Library’s holdings, include the White House files of his presidency, 1963-1969, and papers from his service as a U.S. Congressman, 1937-1949; U.S. Senator, 1949-1961; and Vice President, 1961-1963. Materials in the Library are available on an equal basis to all researchers. However, some collections have not yet been processed and therefore are not open for research. Contact the library for information about access to the library’s collections. Museum exhibits include the 1968 “stretch” Lincoln automobile Johnson used in Washington and a scale replica of the Oval Office as it was during the Johnson presidency, with audio activated by a button.
The Library is located on the campus of The University of Texas at Austin, just off Interstate 35. It may be reached by taking the 26th Street exit, marked “LBJ Library and Museum,” and following the signs to the Library.
Palo Alto Battlefield National Historic Site is the only unit of the National Park Service with a primary focus on the U.S.-Mexican War. It is also one of the very few historic sites associated with the life and career of Zachary Taylor, twelfth president of the United States. (Believe us, we’ve looked.) Taylor’s victories at Palo Alto and at Buena Vista in present-day Mexico led him the presidency in 1848. Palo Alto Battlefield National Historic Site recounts the entire Mexican War–including the details of its origins and the broad range of consequences. In an effort to turn a scene of conflict into a place of bi-national exchange and understanding, all research and interpretation conducted by the park reflects perspectives of both the United States and Mexico.
Location Information and Directions
Links: Palo Alto Battlefield National Historic Site
On the morning of March 6, 1836, approximately 187 Texas defenders lost their lives at the Alamo fighting the overwhelming forces of the Mexican army commanded by Gen. Antonio López de Santa Anna. Counted among the dead were James Bowie, David Crockett and William B. Travis. The defenders had repelled the Mexican forces for thirteen days before their crushing defeat. It is their courage and tenacity in the face of overwhelming odds that secured the Alamo’s place in Texas history. Their memory was invoked as the battle cry in the Battle of San Jacinto on April 21, 1836 where Texan forces led by General Sam Houston vanquished the Mexican army commanded by General Santa Anna. The Alamo’s military significance has greatly overshadowed that of its early beginnings. It was originally established in 1724 as a Spanish mission, Misión San Antonio de Valero, the oldest of a series of five Spanish missions scattered along the San Antonio River. Today in downtown San Antonio merely a portion of the original mission compound remains as a result of urbanization. It is contained within a 4-acre historical complex maintained by the Daughters of the Republic of Texas. The chapel of the Alamo stands as a shrine to the memory of its defenders and exhibits artifacts from the battle. The complex also includes a museum, library and gift shop.
Location Map and Directions: Click Here
Links: Alamo National Historic Site